Sentara College of Health Sciences

College Closings 2016-2017 School Year

Labor Day Observance, September 5, 2016

Thanksgiving Break, November 21-25, 2016 (No classes, College open Nov. 21-23)

Winter Break, December 24, 2016 - January 2, 2017 (College opens Jan. 3, classes begin Jan. 9)

Martin Luther King, Jr, Holiday, January 16, 2017 (No classes, college open)

Spring Break, March 6-10, 2017 (No classes, college open)

College Closed, May 19, 2017

Memorial Day Observance, May 29, 2017

Independence Day Observance, July 4, 2017

You are here

Academic Calendar

You will receive an academic calendar for your specific program or course when you start college.Click here to download College Catalog or review the dates below. The Academic Calendar reflects major dates for the college to include semester breaks and college closings. 

Student Calendar - 2016-2017 School Year

Fall 2016 Semester Dates
Fall Semester Begins Monday, August 15
Drop/Add Ends Friday, August 19 @ 5pm
Labor Day Observance Monday, September 5
Registration October TBD
Thanksgiving Break

Monday, November 21 - Friday, November 25

(No classes; College will be open for business

Monday, November 21 - Wednesday, November 23)

Fall Semester Ends Friday, December 9
College Closed Saturday, December 24 - Monday, January 2
Spring 2017 Semester Dates
College Opens Tuesday, January 3
Spring Semester Begins Monday, January 9
Drop/Add Ends Friday, January 13 @ 5pm
Martin Luther King, Jr Holiday 

Monday, January 16

(No classes; College open for business)

Spring Break

Monday, March 6 - Friday, March 10

(No classes; College open for business)

Registration April TBD
Spring Semester Ends Friday, May 5
Graduation Thursday, May 25
Summer 2017 Semester Dates
Summer Semester Begins Monday, May 15
Drop/Add Ends Friday, May 19 @ 5pm
College Closed Friday, May 19
Memorial Day Observance

Monday, May 29

(College closed)

Independence Day Observance

Tuesday, July 4

(College closed)

Summer Semester Ends Friday, August 4